It’s Getting Hot in Here

I stayed home yesterday to nurse my cold that won’t go away. My boyfriend insisted I try Theraflu and now my mouth is burned. And I’m pretty sure it burned in the awful taste of the Theraflu. Right about now I’m wishing for a toothbrush.

Anyway, I did wake up feeling a bit better this morning (though I’m not willing to concede Theraflu’s part in this just yet) and made it in to work, though I would much prefer to be at home enjoying day time television – thank god Law & Order plays at all times of the day on various channels!

I made it out for a short run this afternoon (3.1 miles) in the heat. It was 85 degrees by 10:20 AM! And yet I still threw on my running gear and sun screen for a noon run. I’m not entirely sure what I was thinking. Wait, scratch that, I don know what I was thinking. I was invited out on a run and it was a way to get me to push myself with other runners and make sure that I actually made it out today. When I got back to my desk it was 95 degrees. I went running at the hottest part of the day in 95 degree heat. And I survived.

I’ve had a week or so off from working out because of this cold, but I really need to get back into it. It’s swim suit season just around the corner and I’ll be in Orange County for Memorial Day so I really have no time to spare.

I really don’t do well with the heat, so I’m not sure why I decided to run at lunch. Really, it wasn’t as bad as I thought. I mean, when you’re working out you’re supposed to sweat. So walking back into the offices with sweat running down my face is accepted as long as I’m wearing my work out gear. When I’m dressed for the day it’s a lot less comfortable wandering around in sweaty clothes.

I’ve got plans to attend a wine festival Saturday and it’s going to be hot. Too hot, I fear. I know, I know, there will be wine and that will make everything better. But that’s not entirely true. I do not do well in extreme temperatures, especially heat. If it’s cold, you can always put on layers; if it’s hot, there’s only so much you can take off. When I visit Idaho in the summer time I always ask two questions before I commit to plans: 1) Is there a pool? and 2) Is there air conditioning? If the answer to either or both of these questions is no, I refuse to leave.

So this weekend, I may be the one hiding in shade, attempting not to bring down the excited drunk moods of people around me with my complaints of the heat. I’m not very confident that I’ll be able to stop them, though.

Leave a comment

Filed under Too lazy to find a category

Leave a Reply

