Adjustments

Officially, it’s day two in the new apartment (I’m counting full days here).  The first evening, which doesn’t count as a full day, was a cluster of unloading the van and hauling everything to the apartment.  Boxes and bags and skis everywhere!  We finally started the unpacking process and got most of it put away or hung up.  But the desk?  My god, the desk is a mess.  And there are some piles of miscellaneous stuff for which I still need to find a home.  But it’s coming along.  The apartment is tiny and I wonder how we’ll survive in here – especially if I either one of us thinks about purchasing another book, pair of shoes or dvd.  We are maxed out in those areas. 

On top of that is discovering how to live with someone in such close quarters.  I’m a loner of a person, for the most part.  I like to be around people, but I also like my alone time, and there isn’t much separateness in an apartment of this size.  Please, don’t get me wrong: I want to live with Wes.  I’m glad we’re doing this.  I’m just not used to such close quarters.  I have only shared a room once in my life: my sophomore year of college – I hated it.  So, yeah, this is a bit different – we’re not sleeping in bunk beds, I’m not taking my cues on waking up from someone who stayed out partying all night – but the space is just as scarce and it will still be an adjustment. 

We joined a gym yesterday – the only one around here with a pool.  Yes, yes, I know: there’s the ocean right down the block.  Yeah, I’d rather get back into the swimming thing in a pool that doesn’t contain waves or, you know, sharks.  I woke up this morning to take Wes to work and went swimming right after that.  And I was still home by 7:15.  So what I know is this: when I find a job, there is no way I want have to wake up at five am.  I’ve done that for the past almost-two years and it is not fun.  My hair never gets done, makeup sometimes gets tossed aside and by the time I get to work – before doing anything – I’ve already been awake for two-plus hours.  So by the time I get home from work, I’ve been awake for 13 hours and all I want to do is relax.  Even though it’s only an 8-hour work day.  So, yeah, I don’t really want to do that again.

And speaking of jobs, now that I’m here, it’s really starting to hit me that I do not have one after July 11th.  I will have no income, no affordable health insurance.  I’ll having nothing to occupy my time but the beach and my books.  And while, theoretically, that sounds nice, it’s also freaks me the fuck out.  People keep saying that I’ll have no trouble finding a job; that it will be good to take some time off; but I’m not finding that to be the case.  Yes, of course I want to take some time off.  But I also want to have a job lined up for me when that rest period is over.  I want to know that there’s something waiting for me so that I can actually enjoy my time off instead of stressing over the fact that I don’t have a job.

Tomorrow afternoon I have an interview with a Headhunter, which will hopefully start this ball – that has so far been fairly stagnant – rolling.  I’ve also got a contact down here that can hopefully set me up with temp work, which would offer benefits.  That would be ideal for right now: less stress so that I can enjoy relaxing.  

For right now, though, I do have a job.  So I’m going to enjoy my early morning swim, followed by my mid-morning nap; after which I will venture down to the pool and hopefully finish my book.  I’ve got a hair appointment this afternoon and I’m hoping this Marty character can help morph me into an adult-type person for my interview tomorrow.

Leave a comment

Filed under Job hunting sucks, Relationships are hard, Work

Leave a Reply

