I never thought I’d say it, but I miss muni

Oh sweet, dear Lord.  The traffic here is awful.  Tuesday I spent four hours in the car.  Four hours!  In a car!  I haven’t driven regularly in almost two years, so this four hour nonsense made just a little, um, irritable.  And by a little I mean a lot.  I hate traffic.  And not in that Oh, yeah, traffic sucks way.  I hate it. I don’t understand it – how can you be in a dead stop and then get up to the speed limit only to come to a dead stop a mile later?  How?  Seriously, please explain it to me.  There’s a reason I stopped driving.  Well, two if you count the driving infractions I made in the last year I had my car.  

I’ve been going on interviews of sorts, trying to find a job.  Which is proving to be rather difficult.  The recruiters and staffing agency I’ve spoken to tell me flat out that there’s nothing going on in Orange County and that if I commute from here I will hate my life.  So that’s something to look forward to.  I have an actual interview tomorrow morning in a nearby location, but to be honest, I don’t know a lot about the job.  It was something I spur-of-the moment applied for on Craigslist and didn’t expect to hear back from because I haven’t heard back from anything I’ve applied for. But I did.  And now I all I have to do is calm myself down for the interview.

Did I mention that I’ve only been to one interview?  It’s true.  I didn’t get the job, which actually was a blessing in disguise, but at the time it just felt like a rejection.  And no one likes those.  

So, yeah, I need to learn all I can about interviewing in the span of a night.  And then I need to wake up tomorrow and put on my suit for the third day in a row (followed promptly by a trip to the dry cleaners) and try to sell myself.  But not in a prostitution sort of way.

I’m still pretty freaked out about being down here and not having a job yet, but a little less so. Not as much as I was on Monday and Tuesday.  I’m confident that something will come through.  Power of positive thinking and all that.  In the mean time, I’m cleaning up the mess that is our apartment.  Who knew that all of our shit combined would make it feel like a used store.  In time it I’m hoping (positive thinking!) that everything will find a home and we’ll be able to make it here.

Tomorrow we leave for my family reunion in Idaho.  Where it was 104 degrees last weekend.  This weekend Mother Nature has been kind enough to cool it down to a brisk 91 degrees.  So we’ve got that going for us, which is nice.  I’m hoping that it will be a good time and we won’t be dragged to all the crazy things my parents are fond of doing.  I love them and all, but they do some crazy activities that they refer to as “cool.”  

The only “cool” thing I want over the weekend is water.  Is that too much to ask?  Oh, that and fireworks.  Something more than sparklers and pop-its.

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Job hunting sucks

Leave a Reply

