The Downhill Slope

 

 

Happy Birthday to Me!

Happy Birthday to Me!

That’s me and Wes on our diving adventure from Sunday.  We did our final three dives for Open Water Diver certification and simultaneously celebrated my 26th birthday.  

The past couple of dives have been, um, not as fun as I had anticipated.  My ears refused to equalize in a timely manner and I was always the last one to the bottom.  And not by a second or so.  I’m talking minutes here, easily.  Our instructor and her assistants were constantly signaling “OK?” as we descended and I would have to signal back “OK.”  And, eventually, I would find my way down to join the group.  Still, though, my ears were finicky, and any little thing would set them off and I would have to ascend until the screaming in my ears would stop.  

Flood my mask and then clear it?  No problem.  Except that my ears did have a problem with that and minutes later I was back at the top, yawning and swallowing and wiggling my jaw and plugging my nose and blowing until – finally – my ears popped.  And then I started all over again. 

All of the pictures of me underwater show me trying to equalize.

Trying to equalize

 

 

 

 

 

Also, one time I floated away.  We were all just swimming along and suddenly I was at the surface.  I really need to work on my weight system – I’m thinking ankle weights so that I have more control of my feet while underwater.

Anyway, like I said, I’ve had some trouble equalizing in the pool and in our first ocean dive.  I was really sure that I would never enjoy diving because of that.  But on our second dive it all started to come together and I was suddenly not the last one to the bottom!  I was there with all the rest of them and I got to enjoy the wonders of the ocean.  Like these fancy things:

Fish!

Fish!

 

Orange Fish!

Orange Fish!A School of Fishes!

 So that was my exciting birthday.  We woke up at 4:30 in order to get to the boat by 6:00 and we didn’t get home until close to 7:00.  We were exhausted.  A pre-made pizza, a glass of wine and a glimpse of the Olympics and we were ready for bed.  

Not a bad way to start my 26th year.

Leave a comment

Filed under Me

Leave a Reply

