Catch Up

 

How many posts have started in the past week since we got back from Portland?  A lot.  Unfortunately, none of them are complete.  So now it’s time to play catch up. 

 

Portland was fantastic and the wedding was beautiful.  Whenever we travel to the North West (Idaho included in this) we are always caught by surprise at all the greenery.  After living in California for eight years I’ve gotten used to the concrete and sand and palm trees that are everywhere.  What’s green here has substituted what’s green in my home state and I always forget how beautiful it is.  And it’s always nice to go back to a place that still has green spaces.  Like at the MAX Station:

The wedding reception took place on the bride’s family’s farm.  And the weather was perfect for it.  I didn’t have to change out of my dress until close to midnight because of the cold.  And the dancing we did was awesome.  There was a little boy, probably about six, who was dancing up a storm.  I wish I’d taken video of it but instead I chose to dance with him.  I think that might have been the better choice.

This week has been full of putting into gear the job search.  A friend of mine who was unemployed for eight months (ed. note: I really hope it’s not that long for me.  I like having spending money) has been pushing me to do things I wouldn’t have done on my own.  And guess what?  They’re paying off, which is very exciting.  

Yesterday we joined a couple of friends at Sea World.  The last time I was there I was about 15 and it was raining.  Yesterday had perfect weather and we got to see the dolphins:

 

Dolly the high-jumping dolphin

Dolly the high-jumping dolphin

Then, my personal favorite, the sea otters:

 

Sea Otters!

Sea Otters!

These little guys were so cute!  Two of them were sleeping in a bucket filled with ice and three were just frolicking around.  There was shrimp and fish for them to eat.  One would grab two or three shrimp, eat one and leave the others on its belly and then swim around and eat them.  I think I spent about 15 minutes watching them.  And I probably could have spent another 20 but there were so many other things to see and do.

Like feed the sting rays:

 

Feeding the Sting Rays

Feeding the Sting Rays

 

 

Which are so slimy-soft.  And would make these weird snorting sounds when coming over.  We bought some tiny sardines and held them in the water and they would make their way over and snatch them out of your hand.  And really, the fish were so tiny that I kept worrying that the ray would take a couple of fingers with it and dropped it a little early a couple of times.  Still, it got them over there and allowed us to touch them, which was pretty amazing.  

And, of course, we saw Shamu:

 

Killer Whale!

Killer Whale!

Amazingly, we sat in an area that didn’t get splashed at all.  

We saw some Beluga Whales, Polar Bears and Penguins over in the Arctic Center:

 

Arctic Penguins

Arctic Penguins

 

 

South American Penguins

South American Penguins

 

Beluga Whale

Beluga Whale

 

Sleeping Polar Bear

Sleeping Polar Bear

 

The weirdest part about the park is that alcohol is allowed.  And I’m not just talking about in designated areas, like most kid-oriented amusement parks, but every where.  You could buy it at any of the cafes and, even, at some of the concession stands throughout the park.  You could watch Shamu with a Bud Light, or go through the shark area (which was pretty lame) with the Pumpkin Spice beer.  It was very surreal and maybe not such a great idea. 

Or maybe it’s brilliant, who knows.  The whole thing was pretty amazing and we hope to get down there again before the year ends.  But there’s also the San Diego Zoo and the Wild Animal Park.  And Joshua Tree camping.  So who knows where we’ll find the time.

1 Comment

Filed under Beach Living, Travel

One response to “Catch Up

  1. Everything is better with beer 😉 Oh, and you must visit Joshua Tree! Amazing!

Leave a Reply

