Blocked

One of the best parts about my job is the “fun’ stuff – all of the event planning.  Right now I’m working on group BBQ in June.  It’s done every year and, apparently, every one loves.  However, one of the things that I’ve noticed about this job – this satelite office of a giant company – is that there’s no real pride in where we work.  They come to the BBQ for the free food but there’s no real sense of togetherness (ugh, I wish I could think of a better way to describe it, but that’s all I’ve got) – that I can see – in the employees.  They create cliques at the events and it becomes just another excuse to get out of work early.

So, for this year, my goal was to try to bring everybody together.  In any way we can.  So I thought of making a skit to start things off and to get people excited about being at a company event.  And, becasue I’m seen as creative, I’m in charge of writing the skit.  The plot is all planned out, but the part where getting words on paper and making work is really not as easy as it should be.  I keep staring at the screen and hoping that inspiration will strike and the skit will just magically appear.  I think part of the nerves is the fact that people will be reading this and commenting on it and acting it out.  Will the funniness that we talked about at work translate to the pages?  Will everyone else find this as funny as we – the brains behind the plot – think it is?

Even if we do pull it off, will it be enough to turn the event into something that makes a more cohesive team?  Or will it just be employees who happen to be at the same beach?

Leave a comment

Filed under Me, Writing

Leave a Reply

