It’s Not All Bad

After freaking out for the greater part of Friday I took a step back and realized that part of the reason that I’m so opposed to all these (hypothetical) moves is because this one has been so hard.  Hard to find a job; hard to make friends; hard to adjust to living in such close quarters; hard to adjust to the sprawled-outedness of Southern California.  The whole thing has just been hard.  All the things we planned to do often take a back seat to the non-friends we have made.  So, after talking, we decided that we really do need to get out and just do something.

So we went to the Getty Museum, which we’ve been wanting to do ever since Wes moved down here.

Waiting for the tram

Waiting for the tram

It turned out to be a beautiful day in LA and we got there just in time to hear the architecture tour and the garden tour.  Both of which were beautiful and guided by this lovely lady:

The definition of docent

The definition of docent

The outside architecture and gardens were so beautiful

New and Old

New and Old

These lovely flowers were held up with rebar and were a brilliant pink.  img_5318

From here LA doesn't look so bad

From here LA doesn't look so bad

Last view of the Getty

Last view of the Getty

Oh, yeah, there were some paintings and sculptures on the inside, but Wes and I were both much more interested in the outdoors.  We were hoping to have more time in the garden, but as it was we didn’t get out of there until close to 8:00.  It would have been nice to walk through the garden a little slower and appreciate some of what it had to offer:

img_5312

Waterfall

Waterfall

Landscape

Landscape

It’s such a beautiful place that I can definitely see us going back there (perhaps with my parents and my dad’s fancy camera!) just to spend more time.  However, on Saturday we had plans to attend a bonfire. Which is one of the perks of living here.

a huge fire

a huge fire

The novelty of being able to walk across the street and have a fire still hasn’t worn off, even though we hardly ever get out there.  We still have at least 8 months and I know they’re going to go so fast – just like the last eight months have.  Half the stuff we want to do will probably be skipped for other things, but I’m hoping that we can fit in as many as possible.  As much as I’m ready to leave, I want to make sure that I don’t leave here with regrets of Not Doing More (like I have from San Francisco – luckily tickets from here to there are cheap enough that I have a chance to rectify that).

I just have to keep my attitude positive and remember that this – Orange County – isn’t forever.

But this is

But this is

And it’s nice to have someone by my side who looks just as silly in photos as I do.

Leave a comment

Filed under Beach Living, Relationships are hard

Leave a Reply

