Less Militant

How is that Challenge to work out every day for 31 days going, you ask?  Oh, pretty much like one would expect, which is to say: badly.

I had a strong start with four days in a row before I was promptly knocked on my ass by a cold.  And then I started again only to be knocked on my ass by all the alcohol at the Family Reunion.  And then just when I was ready to get back into there were visitors and weddings and just an insane amount of weekend things to be done that prevented me (um, gave me a great excuse) from working out.  Lame though they were, I think it was the right decision to not be too militant about how often I work out.

So that’s where I’m at: less militant.  Of course there are going to be times when I can’t possibly lace up my running shoes or clip on my bike helmet to get some activity.  Sometimes the activity will have to be walking to dinner or the beach and enjoying time with the people I care about.  And I think I’m okay with that.

All that said, though, I still want to be active.  I still want to train myself to not pick television over Activity, which is much easier to do in the summer time when tv consists of The Bachelorette and other such nonsense.  Easier to do when I realize all the weddings we have coming up and how I want to look good in a dress instead of putting in on and thinking I don’t remember it hugging so tightly.

So I run at work and fit in some fun exercises during the weekend (biking, running, things that aren’t running).  It’s working out so far.  I can see that my face isn’t as fat (which is great for pictures!) but everything else is taking it’s sweet time conforming to what I want it to look like.   Less than three weeks before the first wedding and I’m hoping to have some noticeable changes by then.

***************

In other news: my birthday is in 13 days!!!!!!!!!!!  And I love my birthday.  I don’t love the fact that I’m slipping closer and closer to 30 and have pretty much nothing to show for in my life.  But whatever, it’s My Day and I’ll enjoy it.

1 Comment

Filed under Exercise is Awesome!, Me

One response to “Less Militant

  1. Flor

    happy birthday! my panda fanatic roommate got a Morn Creations bag as birthday gift.
    she is just thrilled with it!
    hkpanda.freetzi.
    com

Leave a Reply

