Losing the Love Handles

When we were in Portland a couple of weeks ago my parents and brother surprised us to join in our engagement brunch.  Between the three of them and Wes they had lost about 100 pounds in the past five-ish months.  While I have been stockpiling fat like I’m hibernating for the winter.  And there’s no winter in Southern California!

I’ve been trying to get in shape for the past couple of months after spending years in San Francisco getting my workout as I climbed the hills for the bus – on top of getting to the gym or fitting a run in.  Moving to Orange County cut nearly all of the extra workouts out of my daily routine.  I drive everywhere.  In short, I’ve put on a little extra layer of fat since moving here.  And I’ve been trying to get back to the gym regularly to get tone up.  Something keeps stopping me – some legitimate, some not – and for whatever reason I can’t seem to follow through on the exercise goals I’ve set.

Yesterday I spent the day with my best friend (and future Maid of Honor!), Jessica, and we both mentioned that we had some weight we really wanted to lose.  So we decided that we would work together to make it happen – push ourselves to get it done.  Perhaps what we’ve been lacking is a workout buddy.  So we made it official: a weight loss goal with some incentive built into it.  The first part goes from now until the end of December, where in we decide our weight goal and then work toward it.  After that, though, is when the real contest begins.  Where we work to keep it.  Because, really, isn’t that the hardest part?  I usually get to the point where I feel healthy and fit and then it all goes to hell because I starting convincing myself that I can skip the gym a couple of times and it will all be okay.  Let me tell: it is not all okay; it is much easier to gain the weight than it is to lose it.

This time I’m going to start out with a picture of what I look like now.  And look at it any time Chipotle seems like a good idea.  Or when the tv seems more inviting than the gym.

Behind it all is the wedding, of course.  I don’t want to be scrambling to lose those last five pounds a week before the wedding.  I want to be worrying about other things than love handles.

1 Comment

Filed under Exercise is Awesome!, Friends, Holy Shit I'm Getting Married

One response to “Losing the Love Handles

  1. I totally have the same opinion with you concerning this subject. Nice entry. Already bookmarked for future purposes.

Leave a Reply

