The First Step

The hardest part about the Life List was putting it on paper – setting it out to the world and letting people (not just myself) see what I want from life.  It’s not complete, but it’s a start to what – and who – I want to be.  A lot of what I wrote were lifestyle changes that I need to make before I can Think Big.  Recently my parents made some big lifestyle changes and all that got me thinking about what I need to do.  They have drastically changed their lifestyle, health-wise.  It’s been a complete 180 change and I’m totally inspired by what they’ve done and what they continue to do.

Yes I think the change could have come a lot sooner, but I think it’s so great that they’ve finally decided to make the changes that they needed.  So a lot of My List is all about making sure that I change my lifestyle early so that I can focus on those Big things later on

One of the biggest things that I need to change is my health – exercise and foods.  I haven’t been working since we left Orange County so I’ve put in a lot of effort to exercise regularly.  I wake up early (well, early for someone who doesn’t have to work or wake up on time) and put my workout clothes on before I can come up with excuses on why I shouldn’t go.  I have some breakfast and then I go to the gym and force myself through an hour-long workout, which doesn’t seem very long but really is if you’re used to running 3 miles and calling it good.  Yes, I’m still running, but I’m also branching out to weights and trying to get some definition.

I know that the wedding (and the wedding dress) and the non-work-filled days have a lot to do with why I’m finding it easy to get to the gym and eat healthier, but I’m also finding that the more I go, the more I want to go.  I’m seeing results and I’m feeling better.

I know it’s just a small step on the List, but it’s a start.  There’s a lot more to work on, and a lot more to add.  But this is a step, and isn’t that how all journeys begin?

Leave a comment

Filed under Exercise is Awesome!, Hawaii, Holy Shit I'm Getting Married, Life List

Leave a Reply

