Find Inspiration Everywhere

I’ve been following the blog it forward mash-up that Victoria of sfgirlbybay organized and I’m loving it.  I keep adding new blogs to my bookmarks and find so many great things.  It also got me thinking about my inspiration list.  My main goal for 2010 was to be more positive and today I got some less-than-great (but not awful) news about a potential job and so instead of being negative and mopey, I decided to look at what inspires me and focus on those things.

1. Family and friends.  I surround myself with pretty fearless people, and they are a constant inspiration.  Hardly anyone I know worries about what will happen.  They all know that something great will.  My dad started back into photography after a 20+ year absence.  My mom got back in shape after being over-weight for a long time.  My best friend became a lawyer.  My brother is the funniest and smartest person I know (which I hate sometimes, but at least he tells a good joke).  I have friends who are becoming mothers and wives; friends who took a giant move to try something new.  And I am inspired by them all.

2. Stories.  Long or short, I love a good story.  I love picking up a book and not being able to put it down it’s so good.  It’s gotten harder to stay up until midnight now that I’m sharing a bed, but that doesn’t mean I don’t want to sometimes.

3. Books.  I love the way they look (as evidenced by the over-full bookshelves in our office) and feel and smell.  My dream home includes a room with built-in bookshelves for my book collection.

4.  Music.  Now, I don’t want to get into specifics, because I know that some people are very particular about what they listen to.  And me, I’m not, really.  No  Christian Rock or metal, but I’m open to most things.  Sometimes even the worst songs will bring me to tears (Country, I’m looking at you).  And sometimes the really good stuff will make me want to get out there and create something.

5. Photography.  I got my first DSLR camera for Christmas and I’m still trying to figure out how to make pretty pictures.  Like I said, my dad got back into photography, so I send a lot of questions his way and I’m absolutely looking for his approval when I send my pictures out.  I’m trying to see the world through a lens and capture some good pictures, but I think it will take a while before I know what’s good and what’s not.  And even longer after that to figure out how much to touch up my photos. But I’m working on it, and seeing other good photographs makes me want to work on it more.

6. Wes.  Oh, god, how syrupy sweet is that?  But it’s true.  Sometimes he makes me want to scream, but more often than that he makes me want to smile.  His planning into ever little thing constantly amazes me (see: my birthdays, any gift he buys me, our engagement story).  He has a huge heart and loves fierce (even if he is slow to get to that point).  He looks at the bright side of everything and when I’m feeling blue he knows what to do to snap me out of it.  He may work long hours, but at least he loves his career (an inspiration in itself), and it allows us to live in some pretty exciting places (Hello, Hawaii!).

7. Travel.  Seeing new sights and places. It’s something I haven’t done a lot of (and I absolutely regret not making a semester abroad happen in college), but I’m looking forward to doing more, and to getting more involved in the planning of said trips.  We finally decided on Thailand for our honeymoon and I’m so excited to start planning that.

8. Sleeping.  I’m a firm believer that most things can be solved with a good nap.  Having a bad day?  Take a nap and wake up refreshed and look at the day in a whole new light.

9. Blank Pages.  The possibilities are endless in a new notebook or journal and I love sifting through those pages and musing about what ideas will fill them.

10. A good workout.  Getting it started fucking sucks, but after I force myself to the gym I feel better about pretty much everything.  It gets me out of bed in the morning and jump starts my day.

11.  Writers.  Sense a theme here?  I love writing and should do more of it.

12. Animals.  All they do is play and love.  Well, the cool ones, anyway.  Like dogs.

13. Children.  For being so trustworthy and sweet and just wanting someone to help them through their journey.  The endless possibilities of a child are fantastic.

14. Mothers.  For childbirth.  For 3am feedings.  For staying home with the kids while the husband is out.  For dinners and baths and story time before bed.

15. Large kitchens with fancy appliances.  They make me want to cook four-course meals.

16. A clean house.  It makes me want to entertain.  It makes me want to get out in the world.

17. Clothing.  Dressing up makes me feel important and smart and I don’t do it nearly as much as I wish I did.  I’m holding out for a job that requires it.

18. The future.  Much like an empty journal, the possibilities are endless.  I just need to remind myself of that fact.

Leave a comment

Filed under 1, Family, Friends, Me

Leave a Reply

