March is Going to Be a Busy Month

When I was eight my family took a trip to visit extended family in San Diego and my gift from that trip was a locking diary.  The pages were gilt-edged and each page was dated.  Sometimes I had enough going on in my 8-year-old life to take up the entire page, and sometimes I didn’t.  Sometimes I would remember to write and sometimes I would go weeks without even looking in the thing, though my brother didn’t hesitate to pick the lock and take a look at my innermost thoughts (which I’m sure were super deep and not at all concerned with my crush that week, which happened to be a co-worker of my dad’s and I so wish that I had a picture to show you because I am laughing just remembering it).   When I would finally realize that I had forgotten to record anything for days in a row, I would quickly scribble something – anything – on those blank pages just to say that I had written something for that day.  As a result, a lot of those pages were filled with things like, “Today was fine.  Nothing big happened” and “Today was pretty much the same as yesterday.”  I was determined to write something down, regardless of whether it meant something or not.

I keep saying that I want to write more, and I absolutely do.  But when I sit down to start writing I find myself searching for something – anything – to say.  If I was 20 years younger I might write, “Today was pretty boring” and be done with it.  Obviously that’s not the type of writing that I want to do.  I want to not only write more, but also to have more substance to my writing.  So I’m back to taking notes about everything and reading anything that I can get my hands on and doing things – exploring my new home and writing about it.

And to jump-start this I am doing the 750 words challenge.  750 words everyday.  That writing doesn’t have to be anything fancy, but I’m hoping that as the month progresses, I’ll start getting the hang of this writing thing.  That it will be less stream of consciousness/journaling and more story-telling.

On top of that, I looked back at my Life List and am sorely disappointed in my imagination and ambition.  The world at my fingertips and I can’t come up with more than 33 things that I MUST do before I die.  Maggie over at Mighty Girl got her Life List sponsored for second time and is committing to crossing three things off her list this month, and she’s urging everyone else to do the same with their list as well.  Well, in order to do that, I need to take a serious look at what I want to do if I could do anything in the world.  I suppose Number One item will be to totally recreate the List with more creativity and ambition.  And from there I’ll look for two other items that I can cross off my list this month.

1 Comment

Filed under Life List, Me

One response to “March is Going to Be a Busy Month

  1. Thanks for the great site at 750 words. This is also one of my life goals and I’m sure that this site is going to help me achieve my goal of writing for 30 minutes for 30 consecutive days. Keep working on getting items off the list. I’m just getting started on mine, but it’s been very rewarding so far.

Leave a Reply

