One is Enough

Even though Tsunami is getting easier to handle, she’s still a handful.  And because of the puppy rules in Hawaii, we are housebound.  Meaning I haven’t left the house for more than two hours at a time in nearly three weeks.  Instead of tackling my Life List or exploring the island, I’m working my way through every episode of Las Vegas, Cold Case Files, Law & Order, Law & Order: SVU, and Bones. And that’s just the shows on through noon.  HGTV takes up the evenings.

Don’t worry, I see the irony here: the first thing I cross of my Life List is going to keep me from crossing anything else off for a really long time.  Obviously I didn’t think through the puppy thing very carefully.

I’m feeling a little cabin fever lately.  Trips to the grocery store are the highlight of my day and when Wes is home I look forward to not having to entertain her constantly.  This weekend I woke up with Tsunami early both Saturday and Sunday.  And by Sunday afternoon I was feeling bitter that I was always in charge of her.  That I couldn’t get some peace for even an hour while someone else entertains her and feeds her and makes sure she gets outside to go to the bathroom instead of finding a tile that strikes her fancy.

I imagine this is what new mothers feel like.  Sure the husband has to work, but they at least get away from the chaos that being a new parent brings (whether a puppy or a baby).  Sure there is stress at Wes’ work, but at least he doesn’t have to clean up urine or make sure that his office-mates get to the bathroom every hour.  He doesn’t have to lock them in a room and force them to cry themselves to sleep.

So I guess what I’m trying to say is this: I think it’s going to be a long time until we add kids to this house.

3 Comments

Filed under Hawaii, Holy Shit I'm Getting Married, The Puppy

3 responses to “One is Enough

  1. wes

    Hey you know the people i work with, much of my day is filled with the same.

  2. In about two years you’re going to look back and see your big fat dog and say “oh, I wish she were a puppy again. She was sooo cute! Let’s get another puppy”. You’ll have to go back and read your old blog posts to really remember how bad it sucked!
    I refused to get my dog microchipped when I first had her, just in case I changed my mind about this whole ‘dog-business’ and wanted to drop her off in a field somewhere. I love her lots now…..

    • d

      Oh my god, it’s going to take two years?! No, she’s actually getting better and I know she’ll be a great addition to our family some day soon. I am counting down the days until we can take her outside for more than just a bathroom break.

Leave a Reply

