Who Wants to Hear About My Puppy? Again.

I know I’m getting a little puppy-heavy over here, but that’s my life right now.  When she sleeps I try to make just the right amount of noise – enough that she’ll get used to sleeping in a not-completely silent atmosphere, but not enough that she wakes up.  Sometimes she is out cold and I can do all sorts of activities, but sometimes she wakes up at the smallest shift in the room (like when I un-cross and re-cross my legs.

So anyway, I’ve been spending a lot of time home alone with Tusnami.  During that time I watch a lot of bad television and scour the internet for How to Raise a Puppy.  Everything is contradictory and I keep wondering what is the best approach.  I wonder if we’re doing everything correctly or if we’re going to raise a monster of a dog.  I’m constantly asking dog owners how they trained their puppy and trying to incorporate their bits of wisdom into what we’re doing without throwing out the whole routine.  What we’ve been doing has, mostly, been working.  A few changes have been made to make things easier, and they worked.  Well, they worked as well as one could expect with a 10-week old puppy.

The thing that I most hear when complaining or asking questions about a puppy is this: “Oh, puppies will have accidents.  That’s to be expected.”  But no matter how many times I hear that, it never calms me down or makes me feel better.  I want Tsunami to be housebroken and stop biting and sleeping through the night right now.  I want their to be no more accidents and less yelling and more walks and all around fun time.

Which, yeah, that won’t happen for a while.  I know.  But I can hope, right?

*****************************

Yesterday evening, after Wes got home I went with our neighbor down to our development’s dog park (well, actually, the baseball field that isn’t landscaped because the dog park is ridiculously tiny and full of other dogs’ poop.  Not a fun place to run around, really).  I needed some time away from Tsunami.  Away from worrying about what piece of furniture she was putting her paws on and whether or not she was chewing on her toys or the coffee table and, above all, whether or not she needed to outside and pee or poop.  Whenever I’m out of the house she’s in her kennel and I’m in charge of whatever happens in their, or Wes and I are out together.  In the almost 3-weeks since we got Tsunami, Wes hasn’t spent much time alone with her (completely alone with her awake).  when I got home after 20 or 30 minutes, he looked like I have felt since she bounced through that door: exhausted.  Honestly, I felt vindicated.  Justified in getting snippy in having to wake up early with her or be the one in charge of getting her to poop before bed.  Justified in being so tired that all I want to do at night is go to sleep and make Wes entertain her.

I imagine this is what new mothers feel like the first time the new fathers stay home with their kid alone.

******************************

But honestly, when she does this to me or Wes, it sort of makes up for all of the ways she sucks.

Leave a comment

Filed under The Puppy

Leave a Reply

