Nervous

A couple of months ago I casually mentioned to my boss that I wanted to participate in a triathlon.  A week or so later she forwarded me this link.  The option for the Super Sprint seemed so small that there was really no way I could not sign up for it.  But still, I hemmed and hawed because it was a mere two weeks after returning for our honeymoon and I hadn’t really been exercising on a regular basis with all the craziness of the months leading up to our wedding (two deaths, a wedding and three weeks of visitors).   The day before I left for the wedding, though, I bit the bullet and I signed up for the Super Sprint triathlon – 250m swim, 6mi bike, and 1.5mi run.  I can do all these things on their own so I figured it wouldn’t be too difficult to put them together.

I’ve wanted to compete in a triathlon for a couple of years now – at least as long as I’ve had my bike, plus a year or two.  Before, though, it always seemed so out of reach.  I didn’t want to swim in the ocean because of the waves, or I hadn’t ridden my bike enough to be able to do a race.  The Super Spring Tri, though, made it impossible to use any of those excuses.  The water in Hawaii is the perfect temperature for swimming in and the distances are so short that I don’t need to be riding every day.  I’m really excited to be able to finally cross this off my list.  And, who knows, this could be the start to a very expensive habit.

Leave a comment

Filed under Exercise is Awesome!, Hawaii

Leave a Reply

