Cold

We are in Portland and Seattle for the next week.  For Wes it’s mostly a work trip with a little visiting thrown in and tomorrow that will be interrupted with a trip back to Hawaii for just over 24 hours, and then back to Seattle for meeting the rest of the week.  I, on the other hand, will be spending time with friends and family and enjoying sleeping in without worrying about when a puppy is going to wake up.  I’m enjoying cold weather clothing and many blankets on the bed.  I’m less enjoying the way this weather dries out my skin and makes my lips look like prunes, or how even after I shave my legs in the morning I’m still sporting stubble – just part of the way my body screams at me, “What the hell are we doing back in this climate?!”

One of the things I love about being in cold weather is that hot showers feel so good.   But getting out of those hot showers on cool mornings is like a slap in the face.  Walking around bundled up is cozy; walking into a store with the heat blasting is uncomfortable.  There’s a lot of things I’d forgotten about cold weather and I’m learning them all over again and wondering how it is that I miss this so much.  But then I think about skiing and some day learning to snow shoe.  I remember that our friends and family are here.  And that makes up for all the shit that comes along with with 5-6 months of cold, gray skies and freezing temperatures.

1 Comment

Filed under Family, Friends

One response to “Cold

  1. Wendy

    Even if the weather here is bitter cold your family is here and that makes up for EVERYTHING!

Leave a Reply

