Year in Review: 2010

Taken from Linda over at All & Sundry.  Because while I was reading through hers I thought to myself, Let’s take stock of what I did this year.

1. What did you do in 2010 that you’d never done before?

Starting January, I moved to Hawaii.  Went to Pearl Harbor.  Survived a Tsunami scare.  Got a dog, named her Tsunami.  Changed careers (if you can really call what I was doing before and what I’m doing now a “career”).  Got married! Went to Thailand.  Rode and elephant. (Am still procrastinating on writing anything about that.)  Competed in a super sprint triathlon and won first place in my age group.  Competed in a sprint triathlon and came in 5th in my age group.  Ran a marathon.  Made things (specifics omitted so that my family can still be surprised when they arrive).

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions and will you make more for next year?

I’m not sure I made any specific resolutions, but I know that one of the things I wanted to work on was getting out and making friends and being positive, which I did.  We have made so many good friends in the past year and our social lives (and calendars) are so much more full than they were in Orange County.

This year I want to continue with that.  I also want to work on my attitude.  I find it easy – way too easy – to get caught up in the small things and let them ruin my day.  So I’d like to work on being more positive and not letting small issues ruin my whole day.  I’d like to focus on the friends who mean something to me and phase out the friends who don’t bring anything to my life.  And all that will hopefully lead to less gossiping.  Once my mood sours I get caught up in blaming/griping about certain things and people and I need to stop doing that.  I know that there will always be people who don’t fit in my life and instead of bitching about what they do, I need to focus on the people and things that work in my life.  Hopefully it will lead to a more relaxed and happy me.  Also, I’d like to stop procrastinating and plan ahead.  I’m constantly forgetting, oh, everything and I hate that feeling.  This one will be the hardest.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

This year we had four friends give birth to beautiful and healthy babies.

4.  Did anyone close to you die?

No one close to me, but I watched countless friends and family deal with the death of loved ones: my mom’s mom and sister, two weeks apart;  a friend’s dad died suddenly; another friend lost her mother after a long illness; another lost her brother after battling cancer; a friend whose dad died last year lost her aunt, uncle, and a cousin’s week-old baby.  I think we’re all hoping that 2011 holds less death for everyone.

5. What countries did you visit?

The airport of Korea and Thailand for our honeymoon.  Though, every time we leave Oahu we jokingly say we’re “headed back to the states.”

6. What you like to have in 2011 that you lacked in 2010?

Like Linda, I would love  a shorter commute.  I only work 3 days a week for 6 hours each day and yet I’m gone from home for 10 hours each day.  It’s exhausting. 

7. What dates in 2010 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

Without a doubt, the day Wes and I got married – August 14, 2010.   September 24th because of the triathlon.  December 12th because of the marathon.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Jeez.  Getting married and staying relatively calm throughout the process.  Running a marathon because 26.2 is so many miles. 

9. What was your biggest failure?

Every time I lost my temper over some bullshit issue that, for the most part I can’t even remember. 

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Nothing serious.  Barely a cold.  Aches and such from races. 

11. What was the best thing you bought?

Our bed.  A king size bed in Hawaii is a must.  It’s just too hot to be scrunched in a queen size bed with another person.  Also, our puppy. 

12. Where did most of your money go?

The dog and our wedding & honeymoon.  Also, rent.

13.  What did you get really excited about?

Hate to sound like a broken record, but: the wedding and honeymoon, our dog.   Moving to Hawaii.  And two engagements: Brette & Wiley in April and Ken & Jackie just last week.

14. What song will always remind you of 2010?

I won’t know that until the song comes on the radio in two months. 

15. Compared to this time last year, are you:

happpier or sadder? Happier, definitely.  Hawaii has been more welcoming than Orange County.  We have friends, a decent sized apartment (we have four visitors right now, and though cramped, no one has to sleep in sleeping bags on the living room floor!).  We’re married and we have a puppy who is the cutest.

thinner or fatter?  Thinner.  I’m not sure what happened, but when we moved to Hawaii I lost about 20 pounds.  Who knew that hating your city and sitting for 10-hour days in front of a computer will make you fat?

richer or poorer?  Money-wise, poorer since I’m not working.  Experience-wise, definitely richer.

16. What do you wish you’d done more of?

Camped and skied.  But we don’t have a ton of options in Hawaii. 

17. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Getting mad over stupid things.

18. How did you spend Christmas?

We had an early Christmas with Wes’ family in November.  We’re having a late Christmas with my family whenever their presents arrive (we’re all crossing our fingers for tomorrow).  Christmas day itself we went to a brunch at friends’ house and then made dinner for two couples at our place.

19. What was your favorite tv program?

Community.  Bones.  NCIS.  (I’m addicted to crime dramas.)  Hawaii 5-0 (I know it’s pretty awful but I love seeing my city on TV).

20. What were your favorite books of the year?

As much as I love to read, I hate this question.  My memory is not that great.  Perhaps having the Nook will help since I’ll have my entire library at my fingertips. 

21. What was your favorite music of this year?

I have a friend who sends out compilation CDs and those are my favorite.  I’m pretty bad about finding new music on my own.

22.  What were your favorite films of the year?

Having a puppy has really put a damper on my film-seeing life.  I think the only movies I saw this year were of the chic flick variety and those aren’t anyone’s favorite. 

23. What did you do on your birthday and how old were you?

My birthday was 4 days before my wedding and Wes had to go to the mainland early for work so the weekend before he surprised me with skydiving and it was awesome.  My actual birthday I worked, had lunch with my boss and flew to Portland.  I was 28 years old. 

24. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

A shorter commute.  A full-time job that I absolutely love.  To be able to take awesome pictures on my awesome camera.  Goal for 2011: learn what the hell all those buttons on my camera mean. 

25. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2010?

I’ll wear anything that doesn’t make me sweat as soon as I step outside.  Fashion in Hawaii has sort of gone out the window in favor of not melting when I walk outside.  So: skirts, shorts, dresses.  Lots of wearing my hair up.

26. What kept you sane?

Running.  My puppy (unless she was making me crazy).  Wes.  Writing.  Swimming.  Cooking.

27. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2010?

One that I feel like I’ve learned often and then promptly forgot: nothing matters except what matters.  Basically: stop letting all that little stuff get to you because it doesn’t matter.  Focus on the important things because they do matter.

Happy New Year, All.

Leave a comment

Filed under Me

Leave a Reply

