In a Grown Up World

Why is it so difficult for me to get started on my days off? Saturday and Sunday I’m up and ready to work out and get the day started, but when Monday and Friday I have to force myself out of bed. And then force myself into the shower. And, well, pretty much my entire day is spent forcing myself to do something other than sit on the couch and watch reruns of Law & Order.

I’ve decided that I’m much happier the less television I watch. Last week I had a little break down of the we-never-do-anything! variety. I took a look at our weekday schedule and I was dismayed at how much time was spent parked in front of the television and I was just so sick of doing that. So I called my brother to bitch about how boring my life has become when, that’s not really the issue at all.

I decided that when I came home from work, instead of watching television (because, let’s face it, nothing I’m watching at 4pm is worth watching). I’ve started taking Tsunami for walks (she’s finally healed enough that short walks are a possibility and it is making our life so much calmer) or making dinner or various other small sides (croutons, tortilla chips, tostadas!). I even started laundry so that we’re not stuck at home on the weekends with small chores, which is something that I resisted for a while because I felt like a maid. I felt like, because I only work 3 days a week that meant that I was in charge of all the household chores and while that makes perfect sense, it didn’t make it any easier to swallow. I have to keep reminding myself that, yes, part of my job is taking care of the home. And that’s not a bad thing. At least I don’t have to work 10 hour days and don’t come home stressed out or have to work weekends or any of the other things Wes has to deal with in his career.

And as far as thinking our lives are boring, well, that’s something that I will constantly have to work on with myself. Wes does work 10 hour days and I completely understand the need to want to completely turn off when he gets home. Since I stopped watching television as soon as I get home from work, I’m not upset when he turns on the tv because I’m also ready for the time to unwind. On the weekends I plan things for us that we’ll both enjoy. Or I plan things for myself because I know I need to get out.

On top of that I just need to realize that we’re no longer in our early 20s. Going out every night and buying many drinks and trying new restaurants nearly-nightly isn’t an option. Now we have a budget to follow and a dog to take care of and a house to keep clean. So our lives aren’t as carefree as they once were. But life changes and when that happens, we have to change with it. Which means, just maybe, days off shouldn’t be spent watching crappy television.

Leave a comment

Filed under Married Life, Me

Leave a Reply

