Piles

I think it runs in the family, the small piles of things I make. Instead of putting things away as soon as I’m done with them, I drop them in a pile and wait for a more appropriate time (um, when the pile gets so big that I can’t ignore it) to deal with it. My grandmother was what they now call a hoarder. Her house was just one giant pile of things she couldn’t or didn’t want to put away. She bought things just to buy things – because they were on sale or they looked cute – and then dropped them into a pile of other useless items.

Growing up my dad was merciless about piles. If things were left out too long they ended up in the trash. He’d cleaned out my grandmother’s house one too many times to let his own house turn into that. So I have a piece of my mother’s side (Pile it up! Deal with it later!), but I also have my dad’s side, when the piles become too much and I have no choice but to clean them all up. And then continue on to drawers and cabinets and purge anything in the apartment that we don’t need. I’ve been in my grandmother’s house enough times to know that I don’t want to let stuff accumulate too much.

Looking at the images of Japan on the news and online I’m overcome by how much stuff they have to deal with. Where do you even begin to start to rebuild? Whole cities destroyed and bodies still floating ashore. It’s cliche, I know, but my heart does ache for the devastation that Japan is dealing with. For what they’ll have to deal with for months and years in the future while they rebuild their country.

If you haven’t already, text REDCROSS to 90-999 to donate $10 through your phone bill. Heck, sometimes Wes’ extra text messages cost more than that. It’s the least we can do.

Leave a comment

Filed under Me, You have got to be fucking kidding me

Leave a Reply

