Before

This morning another friend (the fifth one this year) announced that she was pregnant. And while I’m incredibly excited for her and her husband, I’m also a little jealous that she gets to start her baby journey now and Wes and I have a plan that starts a little bit later. I had to call a friend to get me back on the excited track because it is exciting news and I don’t want to take away from it by being sad for myself. Which is just silly since our plan to start later means that we’re waiting months, not years.

While I was talking to Whitney she reminded me that babies take up a lot of time and our lives will change dramatically and we should perhaps take some time to enjoy our lives as they are now. We’ve finally gotten Tsunami to a point where we can leave her at night and during the day and she’s less nuts. So instead of being bummed that our baby plan doesn’t coincide with someone else’s baby plan I’m going to take a step back and look at what I want to do before we add to our family. Like traveling and enjoying dinners out and time at the beach and sleeping in.

2 Comments

Filed under Married Life

2 responses to “Before

  1. Wendy

    dani-
    It is important to remember that there is no real plan or time when you want to have kids. Look at me! I just had 2 friends announce they are pregnant in the last week and I am happy and mad all at the same time. It was supposed to be me…right?

    • d

      I know. And, like I said, it will be better to have our kids closer in age than it will be to have kids close in age to someone Wes works with.

Leave a Reply

