Photo Project: Week 1

Posting once a day is probably not going to happen, especially while we’re in New York. So, weekly it is.

Portrait of the artist with bangs cut by her husband. No big deal.

Yes, I have been wearing this around New York. Safety first.

Tired tired puppy.

12:30 am, Wednesday. Tsunami wakes Wes up (she’s been trained to know that Wes is the one who will wake up in the middle of the night for a trip to the bathroom. So Wes got up with her and she did her business, took a drink of water and then started hunting something near her dog house. At first Wes thought it was just a gecko, but once she got it in her mouth he realized it was a cane toad and immediately called for her to drop it (in case you don’t feel like reading the wikipedia page, cane toads can kill animals and some of the stories I read said that a dog can die in 15 minutes of having contact with a cane toad). She did drop it and immediately started foaming at the mouth and eating grass. At this point, Wes ran upstairs and yelled, “Wake up! Wake up! Wake up!” so frantically that I thought there was a fire. We ended up having to wash her mouth out with the hose and then taking her to the emergency vet. By the time we got there, though, she seemed to be fine and the vet tech said that if anything was going to happen it would have happened already. So we all piled back home. Tsunami fell right asleep but it was a little more difficult for me & Wes. The next day Tsunami was lazier than usual and she tried to crawl in bed with me. Come on mom, I picture her saying, I just had a near-death experience. Just a quick snuggle?

The Tacoma Narrows Bridge.

The groom of the wedding we just went to worked on this bridge with the bride’s brother. So basically this bridge was the reason for the wedding. Well done, bridge, well done.

The view from the bride’s parents house where the wedding was held.

I was here for the first time in June for Brette’ bachelorette party and I pretty much fell in love with it. I want to set up a tent and live there. I’m sure her family would be fine with that.

Jack Daniels helps Wes celebrate the union.

Our flight out of Seattle was at 9:40 Sunday morning so we had to wake up at 5:30 in order to get there in time. Originally we said we were going to be responsible drinkers at the wedding, but then one of the guests, who Wes also went to college with, pulled out a giant bottle of Jack Daniels and Wes looked at me with puppy dog eyes. “I’ll be the responsible one,” I said. He took the bottle and I’ve spent the last week telling him stories about that night. I love when Wes gets drunk.

Meow.

This is Booger, Coop’s cat. I admit that took this photo at the last possible minute because we’d been flying all day and I forgot to bring it to the bar with us Sunday night. She has a brown spot under her nose (hence the name), and she was not at all impressed with me trying to take her photograph. Cats are the worst.

2 Comments

Filed under 365 Photo, Life List

2 responses to “Photo Project: Week 1

  1. Now that Tsunami has discovered a new play toy in the yard where do you plan to leave her when you are not at home?

    If you put up a tent on Brette’s parent’s property let me know and I will come visit you!

Leave a Reply

