One Month

20121017-181402.jpg

Stella is one month old today and I know that everyone says it but seriously, it’s gone by so quickly. Wasn’t it just yesterday that we brought her home from the hospital and she was so sleepy that she didn’t want to eat and we had to feed her with a syringe? Wasn’t I just hobbling around in pain from pushing a baby out of my lady bits? It both feels like it was and seems so far away.

My mom got to meet Stella when she was just one week old and when she left at four weeks she was already so different than the newborn she’d met three weeks earlier. For the first few days of my mom’s visit it was nearly impossible to get a picture of Stella with her eyes open but by the time she and my dad left her eyes were open a lot. She was tracking shapes and looking around. We started tummy time and witnessed her strengthening her neck muscles, pulling her head up when she was relaxing on shoulders and moving her head from side to side when on her mat.

She’s been a champion night sleeper, for the most part. If I start her bedtime routine between 9 and 10 then she’s asleep by 11 and doesn’t wake up until between 3 and 4 and then back to sleep until 730 or 8. Yes, I do realize how lucky I am that her nighttime routine is so easy and she gives me so many consecutive hours of sleep. I wish her days were still that easy. Monday afternoon she started fighting sleep and though I know babies are supposed to start being more alert and awake for more hours the older they are, one nap in five hours was just too much for this baby. She was too tired to nurse but then too hungry to sleep. I ended up going with my parents to the airport just so she would get an hour of sleep so that she’d have energy to eat and then be ready to sleep. It worked (and also kept me from crying the entire time my mother-in-law was taking my parents to airport).

She’s growing fast, too. We used to swaddle her in these sleep swaddles that velcro but they were one size too big for her. They worked when we first started using them because she was so sleepy but as she started getting more alert they didn’t restrict her enough and she was constantly kicking and swinging her arms and waking herself up. I tried them out again Monday night and she was already filling them out a little better.

Snuggle time

 

As of her 1 month check up today, she’s 22 inches long and 10 pounds. She grew 3/4″ and over a pound and a half in two weeks. Clearly she’s a champion eater now. She isn’t quite the sleeper that she was just two weeks ago, but that’s to be expected. The longer she stays awake, the harder it is for her to go to sleep. After nursing she needs a little snuggle time on my chest to get to sleep and I love it. I know that soon enough we’ll have to start with sleep training and letting her know that her crib is for sleeping and I’m sure at some point she won’t find the same amount of comfort at sleeping on me as she does now, so I’m enjoying it while it lasts, knowing that it won’t.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Stella

Leave a Reply

