Three Months: James

At 2 1/2 months, he was 24.5 inches and 14 pounds 5 ounces. A big boy. We had brunch with a few of Wes’ coworkers and one asked how old James was and when I told her she did a double take. Like, this boy is entirely to large to be only 2 1/2 months old. He’s wearing pajamas that Stella wore until she was 8 months old, and there is no way that he’ll last that long in them. That just means there’s more to love, though. Just like his sister and dad, he’s got a big head. I don’t think it looks disproportionate to the rest of his body, though.

 

DSCN2698

This month he had his first round of vaccines. Stella kindly went first to show him that shots were nothing to be afraid of. He definitely screamed, but calmed down as soon as I nursed him. I was hoping that he would sleep for the rest of the day like Stella did when she had her 2-month shots, but he was wide awake. At least he was in good spirits, though.

 

DSCN2699

He’s been smiling a lot – actual smiles directed at me and Wes and Stella. The first few weeks of having an infant are incredibly rough because they don’t recognize you. Every morning before he could smile, I just got a blank stare. I feed you and love you and clothe you and you don’t even know who I am, I would sometimes think. But now he does. He smiles at me when I get him from his crib and throughout the day when I look at him and make whatever funny noise he’s into that day. He’s even smiling with his eyes and that makes some of those harder moments a little bit easier to handle. DSCN2700

He’s (don’t hate me and knock on all the wood) consistently sleeping through the night, though it still takes a lot of effort to actually get him to sleep. We’re working towards getting him to put himself to sleep, but for now I try to enjoy these nursing and cuddling sessions because I know they’ll be gone before I know it. He’s really close to finding a finger (or two) or thumb to comfort himself with. DSCN2701

Poor second kid doesn’t get nearly enough day time sleep because I just don’t have the time to devote to getting him to stay asleep. It’s been so hot here that the rock n’ play is pretty much off limits during the day, and naps on me don’t last more than 20 minutes. I wouldn’t mind more nap time snuggles, but I think we’ll all be happier when he starts taking regular naps in his crib.

DSCN2702

His big thing this month was rolling from his back to his belly. He wasn’t too happy about finding himself on his belly, but such is life. He managed to do it twice in one day so Wes got to see it, too. DSCN2706

Stella still mostly enjoys having a baby brother. Every once in a while she tells me to set him down or hand him off to Wes so that she can sit in my lap, but for the most part she likes to hold his hand while we all snuggle on the couch. And if I forget to let her help me change his diaper, I have to start it all over again so that she can undo the tabs. We still do a lot of activities and he gets dragged along to all of them. DSCN2707

Yes, it’s going quickly. And yes, it’s a little sad to know that all these firsts are also lasts, but I can’t wait for him to move around and interact with us more. I know Stella will be over the moon excited about having someone to play with.

Leave a comment

Filed under James

Leave a Reply

