Daily Archives: November 19, 2008

Working Girl (um, not that kind of working girl)

Wow, this job thing is tiring.  I barely have time to read the blogs I love, let alone update mine.

That first day I was exhausted.  After waking up at 4:37 a.m. to take Wes to work I didn’t have time to get back to sleep so I ended up just laying in bed and then getting ready for work.  And at work?  There wasn’t much to do that first day.  Or, come to think of it, the following two days.  It’s all coming together slowly right now, which is fine with me.  I need time to catch my breath and this is helping by making it so that I don’t have to catch my breath.  Um, yeah, that didn’t make much sense , but just go with it.

The strangest part of my job is that my opinion is actually listened to and I’m allowed to speak up in meetings.  My last boss was a micromanager of sorts.  She was constantly looking over my shoulder to check and double check what I was doing.  Annoying doesn’t even begin to describe it.  Near the end I just stopped caring about what I was doing because I knew that she had the final say.

But now?  Now I’m feeling like I can actually make some changes that can be good for the company.  I actually feel like people are listening to me, looking me to do some good.  And I’m terribly excited about it.

Of course there are the downsides to starting a new job, mainly: I don’t know anybody.  A group of people go to lunch pretty regularly, but I’m not invited.  And it’s not that these people are not nice – they are – but it’s just that there’s a grace period where you just do your job and don’t have any friendly dealings with your coworkers.  That’s where I am right now.  And it does sort of suck, but I know it will get better.

The other thing that I’m dealing with is not waking up early, but staying awake.  It’s been rough.  My last company shuttled employees in to work so I spent a good hour on the shuttle catching up on my sleep.  And then another hour in the evening.  It’s not quite like that now.  On top of not being able to sleep, I actually have to drive to work!  Oh, yeah, it’s rough.

But those things will start to seem less horrific as I get used to the routine.  I’m still settling in but am looking forward to what happens in the future.

Leave a comment

Filed under Me, Work